lasasmouse.blogg.se

Wd 1tb my book live network drive
Wd 1tb my book live network drive








  1. #Wd 1tb my book live network drive install#
  2. #Wd 1tb my book live network drive full#
  3. #Wd 1tb my book live network drive software#
  4. #Wd 1tb my book live network drive windows#

One of the questions it asks is whether you want to use DHCP to get an IP address for the drive, or to use a static IP address. In there was one useful bit of info – the My Book can be accessed through a browser my navigating to I fired up internet explorer and tried the address and bingo! There was the login screen for the drive (which proved it was working) and, using the default admin logon, I was led through a quick setup wizard.

wd 1tb my book live network drive

I then tried the documentation on the disk. So I had a quick look on the Western Digital Support site for answers – nope, nothing useful. I played with my firewall settings, checked that DHCP was enabled on my PC, all to no avail. The My Book was definitely plugged in and working and the router had detected the connection.

#Wd 1tb my book live network drive software#

Hmm, it’s not quite that simple as the Discovery software failed to detect the drive, simply stating that there were ‘no network drives available’ with no clue as to what to do next. You then run the WD Discovery Tool to detect the drive and configure any shares.

wd 1tb my book live network drive

Installing The My Book World EditionĪccording to the quick guide it should simply be a case of plugging the power cable into the My Book, and then plugging it into a spare ethernet socket on your router. The new one-terabyte World Edition now has faster transfer speeds than the old models as well as replacing old blue LEDs on the front for the new white ones. The networked My Book has been around for a while now but has recently received an overhaul and a new model number, which in this case is the WD10000H1NC, not the older WDG1NC10000. This is the new version of the My Book World Edition. MioNet – a service that allows you to access the files on your My Book from anywhere over the internet.WD Anywhere Backup – automatic network backup software that allows any computer on the network to be backup onto the My Book.WD Discovery Tool – this allows you to search your network, detect any Western Digital drives and quickly configure them.

#Wd 1tb my book live network drive windows#

The installation disk holds the detailed documentation for the drive, as well as three important bits of software (for Windows and Mac):

#Wd 1tb my book live network drive full#

The second function is to give you a quick clue as to how full the drive is – when inactive the LEDs fill up the strip and when it is completely lit you know that the drive is nearly full. The white LEDs serve two functions – one is to tell you that the drive is in use using a Knight-Rider style up-and-down motion. It is about the same size as a thick paperback book at 5.8cm (W) x 14.7cm (D) x 17.3cm (H) and is designed to sit upright. It is a very simple design, just a glossy white enclosure with a vertical strip of white LEDs on the front while the power button and sockets are hidden away at back. The My Book World Edition is a stylish device.

#Wd 1tb my book live network drive install#

Open the box and you’ll find the My Book drive held securely in place, the power lead (with 2 and 3-pin adapters) as well as a Quick Install guide, installation disk and network cable. 440 hours of DVD quality video on the 1TB version.

wd 1tb my book live network drive

The My Book comes in a black box that highlights the best features of the drive as well as possible storage capacities e.g.










Wd 1tb my book live network drive